New Page – Fibromyalgia Basics

I finally finished my page summarizing resources for people just starting to learn about fibromyalgia or FM.  While I’m totally out of patience trying to get people to understand when they simply don’t want to understand, I’m always happy to share knowledge with people who are truly interested.  Please visit this page at Fibromyalgia Basics.

I was deeply touched a few days ago.  I was sharing a minivan with another mother during Random’s rugby practice.  The field is nowhere near our house, so some of us are stuck there during summer practices.  I had met this mother only a couple of weeks earlier and had to go through my whole “I can’t shake your hand” routine.  Her four year old daughter was getting stir crazy and starting to roam the van.  I was deeply touched when her mother gently pulled her aside and explained to her that it really hurt for me to be touched, so the little girl needed to give me a wide berth.  It was very thoughtful, and a lovely reminder that some people do believe me.  Sure, I have family members who still won’t get it.  But for a little while, I was with people who barely knew me and cared enough to take my comfort into consideration.

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Life, Fibromyalgia

Leave a comment